top of page

Hikikomori

I am definitely nearing the stage of hikikomori. What is hikikomori?

Hikikomori is a Japanese term that refers to reclusive adults who withdraw from social life, often seeking extreme degrees of isolation and confinement. Loners, you might say.

But in order for you to be called a hikikomori, you must be:

  1. spending most of the day and nearly every day confined to home,

  2. marked and persistent avoidance of social situations,

  3. social withdrawal symptoms causing significant functional impairment,

  4. duration of at least six months, and

  5. no apparent physical etiology to account for the social withdrawal symptoms.

Now, if those symptoms were a checklist, then I would mark 1, 2, and 5. 3 is still a question, and 4, well, I haven't gone that long which makes me almost hikikomori. I've secluded myself for 3 months now. How wonderful.

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

bottom of page