top of page

Questions of Afterlife


“Have you found joy in your life?”

“Has your life brought joy to others?”


It is said that Ancient Egyptians believed that when you die, you are asked these two questions in order to attain paradise. Today, I try to answer them.

I believe I have found the joy in my life. I would say yes when asked. Other people would say they found joy in their life when they made their business successful, or when they had provided charity and help to those in need, or when they have bought their first house. In my case, I found joy in two things. The first was in a man whose eyes only spoke of love and care to me. That was the first joy that I found, knowing someone I love loves me as well. The second was getting the most amazing news that changed my perspective in life in just a second, new life. But the sad thing is, I lost those two joys. I was given a chance to experience it twice, yet in both times I failed. But my answer still stands; I have found joy in my life.

The second question is probably the hardest to answer most of the time. You see, people like to play it humble, and I am one of the people. I like to believe that I have brought joy to others. I have a family, friends and other loved ones. I have done charity and I tried to help people as much as I can. I like to believe I have brought joy to some people. But I can’t say the same if it means if I manually cease my life. I think I’d only leave pain to those that love me. But here is also the thing, without me, they are so much better off. My mother would have lesser problems financially. My brother won’t have the competition. My friends wouldn’t have to worry so much to a person who doesn’t accept help. And to my much loved one, he wouldn’t have to live a life with someone who constantly bothers him. No more me holding back people I love. So yes, I think I would still answer the same. Eventually, I have brought joy to people. At first it would be pain and the question of WHY and HOW, but eventually, it will make sense.

I may not know all the answers of every question in the world. But I do know this, I know my flaws and I have accepted them. I also know I have done all that I could for everyone. So when the time comes, it doesn’t matter what my answers will be. I do not need paradise; I need my loved ones to be okay and find their happiness. And that’s all that really matters.

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

bottom of page